You Don’t See Me… You See My Residue

Isaiah 53:2-3:

2 For he shall grow up before him as a tender plant, and as a root out of a dry ground: he hath no form nor comeliness; and when we shall see him, there is no beauty that we should desire him.
3 He is despised and rejected of men; a man of sorrows, and acquainted with grief: and we hid as it were our faces from him; he was despised, and we esteemed him not.

In advancing the favor of Christ, we who are in covenant with Jesus through the baptism in Jesus’ name and the in-filling of the Holy Ghost need to clean house before we can move forward in 2013.

Some of us, even though we are baptized in Jesus’ Name and filled with the Holy Ghost, still look at ourselves based on what we see with the naked eye, and not based on what God has changed in us. Some of us have carried old baggage into this new life. Some of us have carried old issues with us into the new life. Some of us have held onto old ways of thinking about ourselves even though we’ve crossed over into a new life. We are carrying into the new walk what occurred in the old walk. We don’t realize that we have been changed.

But if you were baptized in Jesus’ name and filled with the Holy Ghost, God has validated you. God has made you precious. God has chosen you. God has ordained you. God has equipped you. The glory of God wants to overtake you. He wants to overwhelm you with blessing. He wants to enlarge your territories and your borders. He wants to expand your boundaries.

You were once nothing, but you were made something. Today you are new, today you are changed. Today, and every day since you were saved, you have and continue to be free. You need to walk in that freedom.

You might not see it though. And don’t expect the world to acknowledge the change in you.

The world certainly doesn’t see the change in me. What you see of me, here in front of you, is just residue. Leftovers of a past life and a past way of thinking. But in my spirit, there has been a shift. My body just hasn’t caught up with my spirit yet.

The definition of the word “residue” means the remainder. Something that remains after the completion of a process. A remnant. A remainder. Leftovers. Residue is like the soap film that’s left in the bathtub after the water has been drained from the tub. Residue is like when you go in an elevator with someone with a strong cologne on. Long after that person steps out of the elevator, the residue of their cologne is still there.

When I was 4 and 5, I used to catch butterflies. When I let them go, a fine residue of powder was left on my fingers like pixie dust.

You let go of the butterfly. The butterfly is already free. The butterfly has been flying along long ago. But you look down at your fingers, and you see what the butterfly left behind.

This is what you see of me when you look at me. My physical presence is just residue. You might see just an ordinary looking black chick in front of you, but what you see with your eye is just residue. Through Christ, I am the butterfly that is already free. Through Christ, I’ve been flying a long time ago. You might look at me and minimize me, because based on how I look, I might not seem to be about much. But all you’re looking at is residue.

I beat my breast in gratefulness. Because this dust was made precious. This dust was made special in God’s eyes. This dust was chosen. Not because of anything I did or didn’t do. Though dust and ashes, these dry bones were made alive.

I was blind but now I see. I was loony tunes, cuckoo, crazy. But now I am restored, now I have been made whole, now I am delivered.

When you see me, don’t judge me based on what you see. Cause there’s been a change. There’s been a shift. I am a new creature. My pocketbook hasn’t caught up with my faith just yet.

See, we who are baptized in Jesus’ name and filled with the Holy Ghost live a life of contradictions. Through Christ, we are saved, we are forgiven, we are loved, we are precious, we are worthy, we are free. But this flesh, these bodies haven’t caught up with where we actually are in Jesus.

Forgetting those things which are behind… an imperceptible shift. There’s been a change. A change that people can’t perceive with the naked eye. A change that’s so profound and so great that it can’t be contained. In this world, I’m a peculiar person. In this world, I’m an enigma. I’m a puzzle. People can’t figure me out. Because I look like an ordinary, non-remarkable black woman on the outside. There’s nothing special about me when you look at me. If anything, I look non-remarkable.

And my un-saved colleagues may say, and the world says, yeah, there’s nothing special about her. She’s just some dowdy black chick. How did she even get to where she is?  My haters on my job or in the community will say, so what she has children… I have adopted children, so I have children too.  So what she has degrees, I have degrees too. Look at her – her clothes are not up to date, her car isn’t up to date. She is not much, just based upon what I see in front of me right now.

Yet, they get puzzled, and they get perplexed, because I keep winning! I keep bouncing back. I keep receiving favor in situations where others don’t. I keep getting second chances. I keep succeeding. The world can’t understand it. People on my job just don’t get it. They look at me and don’t even know how I got the job. But how did she get that opportunity? But how did she get that funding? But how did she get that position?

See, we are perplex. We are peculiar. We are odd ducks. We are changed on the inside. We are worthy now. Even if you can’t see our worth with the naked eye.
1 Peter 2:9 says But ye are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, an holy nation, a peculiar people; that ye should shew forth the praises of him who hath called you out of darkness into his marvellous light;

We are defined by God, and not by man. We are defined by Jesus’ change in us, and not by the naked eye. You might look ordinary on the outside, but you have a firecracker of power located on the inside… for out of your belly shall flow rivers of living water…

All the world is looking at is my residue. They’re just looking at a shadow of what I used to be. I’m just like my savior Jesus. Jesus’ physical body was just the residue of his true glory.

Isaiah 53:2-3
2 For he shall grow up before him as a tender plant, and as a root out of a dry ground: he hath no form nor comeliness; and when we shall see him, there is no beauty that we should desire him.
3 He is despised and rejected of men; a man of sorrows, and acquainted with grief: and we hid as it were our faces from him; he was despised, and we esteemed him not.

Jesus wasn’t someone who you would do a double-take to look at. The message translation says “the servant grew up before God like a scrawny seedling, a scrubby plant in a parched field. There was nothing attractive about him, nothing to cause us to take a second look. He was looked down on and passed over, a man who suffered, who knew pain firsthand”.

There was nothing special about Jesus on the outside. He wasn’t like these pictures of the guy with flowing blonde hair and rippling biceps and piercing attractive blue eyes that you could see a mile away. The bible says there was nothing special about Jesus on the outside. There was no form that you would desire him. But oh my God, they didn’t understand, they didn’t realize, what was going on in the inside of that ordinary body!

It got to a place where, on the outside, people turned their face away from Jesus. Based on his outside, people looked at him with disgust. The bible says

4 Surely he hath borne our griefs, and carried our sorrows: yet we did esteem him stricken, smitten of God, and afflicted.

One look at him and people turned away. We looked down on him, thought he was scum.

In the end, on the outside he was disfigured. On the outside, he was unrecognizable, hard to look at. On the outside, he looked like a loser. Based on how Jesus looked on the outside, the devil thought he had won.

5 But he was wounded for our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and with his stripes we are healed.

But the fact is, it was our pains he carried— our disfigurements, all the things wrong with us. We thought he brought it on himself, that God was punishing him for his own failures. But it was our sins that did that to him, that ripped and tore and crushed him—our sins! He took the punishment, and that made us whole. Through his bruises we are healed.

We are healed. We are healed. Our outsides might still look ordinary, but we are healed. The world might not understand us, but we are whole. We are healed.

So hold up your bowed head, and put a smile on your face. Drop the baggage of the old life before you were set free. You might not look special on the outside, but God has made you precious on the inside! The world is just looking at the hindsight of your glory in Jesus. The world can only see our residue. The world can only experience a shadow of what we really are. We ARE changed in Him. World, watch my residue!

Leave a Reply

